In Press

As chair of the Eric Carle Museum’s Carle Honors Committee and as founder of the awards, Leonard takes an active role in choosing each year’s winners. The Carle awards are unique in recognizing not only the contributions of the artists who create picture books but also the work of others who, operating “behind the scenes” as editors, art directors, literacy advocates, librarians, and critics, lend their own creative efforts to the shared mission of bringing children and books together. 2019 was no exception, with this year’s honorees including artist Melissa Sweet, art director David Saylor, Reforma, and the Chihiro Art Museum (Japan). Pictured here at the Carle Honors reception on September 26 with Eric Carle and Leonard is Takeshi Matsumoto, founder of the Chihiro Art Museum, which as the world’s first museum devoted to picture book art was among the main inspirations and models for the Eric Carle Museum. (photo by Johnny Wolf)

Start typing and press Enter to search